Posted by: stillironic | February 8, 2010

“The New Yorker”

I could say I started reading “The New Yorker” magazine when I was in junior high. That would have made me quite the literary sophisticate. Back then, there was nothing I enjoyed more on a Saturday afternoon than paging through a stack of “New Yorker”s.

But first there was dusting and vacuuming. I was the family’s unpaid cleaning service, though truth be told I enjoyed cleaning house; a clean, tidy house was what I would certainly have ALL THE TIME when I grew up. Chores done, I’d curl up in a chair in the living room and open a New Yorker. To look at the cartoons—the drawings in “New Yorker” parlance.

There was something illicit about those magazines. They came from a man I remember as dressed pristinely in a black suit and bowler hat. Every once in a while he gave my dad a stack of magazines. “New Yorker”s and “Fortune”s were the ones I remember.

The man’s name was Stan and he was unmarried. He was ruddy, handsome, fiftyish. I pictured him reading his magazines in a slightly fussy but serene apartment with a scarlet velvet sofa, oriental rugs, oil painting on the walls.

There might be a mother tucked away in a room somewhere, drinking sherry. This is how I imagined him and neatly tied up his life.

High school was probably when I started actually reading the magazine. The New York I read about in the Talk of the Town column corresponded nicely with the New York in “Miracle on 34th Street,” my favorite childhood Christmas movie. The New York I moved to after college was captivating, gritty, and uncompromising. I found how difficult it was to keep an apartment neat and clean. I discovered that life is messy. I also got my own subscription to “The New Yorker.”

© 2010 by Virginia Gerhart

Responses

  1. Have you read this great piece on Paul Krugman?

    http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2010/03/01/100301fa_fact_macfarquhar

    • I did. It validated my feelings that during the Reagan administration something so wrong was going on–though I’d been focusing at the time more on what the Republicans were doing to exploit racism.


Leave a Reply

Categories

